top of page

Our Approach

The curriculum at Thameside Primary is a broad and balanced, knowledge-rich primary curriculum. Its content is delivered through a range of subject-specific projects, which last either a full or half term (EYFS). Subject-specific projects cover art and design, design and technology, geography, history and science. Maths is delivered through the White Rose Maths scheme, and English is taught using Jane Considine's The Write Stuff approach. Currently, we use the NCCE scheme for computing, PE is planned and taught by our PE specialists, the Dimensions 3-D scheme is used for PSHE, music was planned by a music specialist and we use the Thurrock SACRE to teach RE. 

Thameside Primary Curriculum 22 has four structural tiers. Each tier builds on the previous to create interconnected layers. These interconnected layers provide a robust framework that ensures connectivity across the curriculum.


Tier 1: Big Ideas (global aims)

The curriculum is led by 10 central Big Ideas. These Big Ideas are the overarching aims of the curriculum. They were conceived by careful analysis of the national curriculum subjects, drawing out common themes, which then, through a period of refinement, became our Big Ideas. These Big Ideas and their intentions are set out below.

Tier 2: Subjects (aspects and concepts)

In Thameside Primary Curriculum 22, we use the terms ‘aspects’ and ‘concepts’. An aspect is a particular part or feature of a subject, and a concept is an abstract idea within a subject. In the curriculum structure, each Big Idea is directly connected to the curriculum subjects, which have the relevant aspects or concepts through which the Big Idea can be delivered. For example, in geography, the Big Idea of Humankind is connected to and delivered through the geographical aspects of Settlements and land use and Human features and landmarks. In history, the Big Idea of Humankind is connected to and delivered through the historical aspects and concepts of Everyday life, Hierarchy and power, and Civilisations.

Tier 3: Programmes of study (national curriculum coverage)

To ensure coverage of the national curriculum, each subject aspect or concept is then matched to the relevant programmes of study. Across the curriculum, there is full coverage of the programmes of study for art and design, design and technology, geography, history and science. The diagram below shows an example of how Tier 2 leads into Tier 3.

Tier 4: Progression framework (knowledge and skills statements)

In Tier 4, programmes of study, aspects and concepts are broken down into smaller component parts or ‘chunks’ to form a cohesive progression framework. The progression framework runs from Nursery to Year 6 and includes knowledge and skills that children need to know and be able to do in order to make progress through the curriculum.


The diagram below shows how a programme of study is broken down further into knowledge and skills statements for the aspect of Human features and landmarks in geography.

Organisation of curriculum content

The structure of Thameside Primary Curriculum 22 provides a robust framework on which to build deliverable content. The content is delivered through a range of broad and balanced, knowledge-rich projects. The knowledge and skills statements provide the foundation for, and are directly linked to, the sequential lesson plans and resources within each project. Each project follows the pedagogy of Engage, Develop, Innovate and Express. The long-term plans (see year group pages) set out the projects for each year group and term. Projects are organised to maximise meaningful links between subjects, aspects and concepts.

Our curriculum intent, implementation and impact statement can be found by pressing the link above.

Curriculum connections.JPG
Big Picture.JPG
bottom of page